Myoga (Japanese Ginger)

IMG_6020.JPG

My wife found this myoga growing wild in our garden. She gathered them the other day. 

IMG_6018.JPG

These are myoga. We use them for spice  

IMG_6023.JPG

Esepecially, Udon( cold Japanese noodle) and myoga is great combination.

IMG_6025.JPG

We add it in the soup. The taste is little spicy. 

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

31 thoughts on “Myoga (Japanese Ginger)”

  1. How lovely that you found it growing in your garden! What a gift. It’s surprising what turns up in the garden brought by the wind or animals and birds 🙂

  2. I have not tried Japanese wild ginger. Wonder how it tastes. I use lots of ginger in my cooking. I usually buy my ginger, no luck to find a wild one in the city. 😀

Leave a comment