Orienteering for Beginners

006

My family and I tried an orienteering in Shinrin Park in Saitama prefecture. It was first time for us.

022

This is a place to entry this event. Everyone can entry it for free.The course is for beginners and children.

003

There are 20 check points in this area and you can walk as you like.

012

The course has a beautiful nature and makes us relax.

021

004

This is a check point which you mark the paper with own punch.
We parents let my daughters go to where they want as much as possible.
Finaly, we were able to finish to get to 20 points for two hour.
We got a set of bubbles from staff as a present. We, parents, got tired than my children. My oldest daughter said, “I want to try more difficult course next time because it’s for kids. ” We may have to come this park again and try another course.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

28 thoughts on “Orienteering for Beginners”

  1. Is orienteering like tracking? Following a course to a specific destination? If there’s chocolate waiting at my final destination, I’ll definitely find it.🙂 Have a lekker Golden Week, Cocomino!

    1. Yes, it is. My daughters played it for fun but they ate strawberry creap after finishing it. They thought it as a reward.🙂 Have a wonderful week, too

    1. They didn’t give us compasses since the course is easy even for my daughters. We need it when we try another course for adult. It’s fun.

  2. What a wonderful idea. We are members of this park, I must try this activity with the kids. Did you get the date from the park’s website? Thank you for sharing.🙂

Leave a Reply

