Sleeping In The Train

I usually sleep for five hours at home but I will be very sleepy if I can’t sleep more than six hours.

So I usually sleep in the train because I’m on it for an hour.
You may think that it’s dangerous for me because someone might steal my wallet or something.
However, more than half of the people riding on the train try to sleep.

One of the reason is that it’s safe on the train in the daytime.
I sometimes see on TV that a drunk got his wallet stolen by pickpockets on the train late at night, but I think that this is rare.

Second reason is that most of the people including me need to commute for a long time.
It can’t be helped There aren’t any jobs outside of the city. Working from home is just a pipe dream.
Japanese business customs are old-fashioned.

Third reason is that Japanese want to use their time as efficiently as possible regardless of whether it is really useful or not.

These are the reasons that I sleep on a hard chair. I wish that there were beds on the train.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

22 thoughts on “Sleeping In The Train”

  1. Terminal stations tend to be bad for theft on trains. Drunk people oversleep, making them easy targets. One of my students is a police officer who works in train stations, and says that this is actually much more common than people think.

  2. I used to sleep on the train in Tokyo all the time. I don’t think it is dangerous at all. My friends used to wonder how I never missed my stop. I think you just learn to wake up at the right time.

  3. In South Africa you would be an easy target for theft. Hooligans make travelling by train extremely dangerous. You have to be alert all the time and even when you get off the train you have to make sure that no one is following you – scary.

  4. I like your little humorous stories, they help to understand your Japanese daily life-style! I wish you many hours of peaceful naps on hard chairs – my cat would do the same …

  5. Every time I ride the subway in New York there are many people napping. No one bothers them. I usually ride in the peak hours and the subway is crowded, maybe it’s a different story late at night.

    1. いや、通勤時間は、二時間で一つの電車に乗ってる時間は、一時間です。私の英語が変だったかも。毎日、四時間も通勤に使ってます。。

  6. I like the idea of catching some more sleep on the train. I used to do the same thing when commuting for a distance… I would love to see a picture of the inside of your train… any chance?🙂

    1. It is difficult to take a photo in the train. If I’m ready to take a photo, many people feel it strange.🙂
      Someone may be angry.
      Japanese don’t like to be taken a photo by other people.
      If possible, I want to take a crowded train inside photo.

Leave a Reply

