The Flowers In My Garden

I’m busy keeping the garden and studying flowers on weekends as the temperature rises up,

This is the kousa dogwood blossoms.
This tree is popular for Japanese home gardens.
You can eat this fluit but I feel it has an acidic taste.
We can enjoy the changing colors of its leaves in autumn

This is catmint.
This catmint has a nice smell and it attracts many bees than cats.
This is so strong that it invades other grasses and flowers.
So I often need to trim this.

This is agapanthus blossoms.
This beautiful blue flower originates from in South Africa.
I’m surprised that this lily flower lives in such a hot country.

This is lavender whose flower means “I’m waiting for you.”.

This is cherrysage (Salvia microphylla) which blooms for a long time.

This is Hellebore (Christmas rose)
Even now they bloom beautiful.

I forgot the name of this flower but found it interesting flower.

I’m busy but I can learn about the changes of the seasons through my garden.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

29 thoughts on “The Flowers In My Garden”

  1. You have a truly beautiful garden and I love your selections… Now, as a fellow gardener, my ears and eyes perked up with that last flower. I love learning about new plants so now I am curious to know what it is called. Can we find out anyone? Great post Cocomino!🙂

    1. Thanks a lot.🙂
      I’m learning about the name of flowers because I have never been interested in flowers.
      Now I know some of flowers in the street.

  2. いろいろなお花をご紹介頂けて見てて楽しかったです。手をかけられて、綺麗に整理された素敵なお庭ですね!我が家は手入れをしばし さぼった為、アッと言う間に雑草だらけです。なんでもまとめて作業するのは大変なのに ・・・ (゚_゚i)

    1. うちも、雑草には困っています。一週間でものすごい成長力かつ、根っこがなかなか抜けないスギナなどは、手ごわいです。
      まあ、でもあまり気にしないようにほどほどに手入れして楽しめるようにします。。

  3. Beautiful! We have a dogwood in America that looks very similar but the petals are more rounded instead of pointed and it doesn’t produce fruit. That’s quite interesting. What does it taste like?

    1. We can’t find this fruit in the store.
      Someone says that it tastes sweet but I feel it bitter taste. 🙂
      I read the old picture book written about children eating a dogwood fruit.
      It has a dream story.

  4. Spring is springing in your garden! Christmas rose is long-lasting, still blooming in my garden, too. Cherrysage just has started blooming here.

    I’ve learned “yamaboshi” is called “kousa dogwood.” Thank you.

  5. Nice garden and pictures. Very well growing plants.
    Last picture is a variety of Euphorbia. Not sure which one.
    Commonly called Spurge here.

    1. Thank you for stopping by and sharing idea. I’ll search the name again.
      It is difficult for me to learn English flower words but interesting.

Leave a Reply

