Voice Of Evacuees

I had a chance to talk with evacuees from the Tohoku area the other day.

1 A woman around seventy years old

“I told NHK(Japanese broadcaster) that the whole town disappeared.
The water pipe in my house was broken and gushing water.
This was as much water as I used for a whole year.
I saw the Japanese Self Defense Force working hard everywhere.
I saw the heavy machine braking the rubble at full power.

(About the day that the Fukushima nuclear plants exploded. )
I saw that it was gray with light smog as if it was cloudy.
Then I heard the voice from a fire station “Don’t leave your home. “.
So I stayed at home for ten days but I didn’t know what I should do.
At this time I thought that I wouldn’t be able to live in this house anymore.

I really appreciate that I can sleep in a place which has a roof and I can eat food three times per day.
I thank the many workers who helped me.

People who lived in near nuclear power plants are better off than other evacuated people because they can receive a lot of money from TEPCO.
Others whose houses was swept away by tsunami get nothing.

From now I’ll ride my bike to relax. “

She talked us about her experience for thirty minutes while we were standing.

2 A man around twenty years old

“Tonight, I’ll go to watch a baseball game thanks to a ticket donated by the stadium. I have never been to a domed baseball stadium.
Sometimes I need to go out the evacuation center. I’m looking forward to it.”

3 A man around forty years old

“I got a job in Tokyo at last. I have to work for a living. So I’ll prepare to move. “

There are many job offers for evacuees both in Tohoku area and around Tokyo.

I don’t have any comments to add.
“Go for it Japan!” (Ganbaro nihon がんばろう日本)

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

28 thoughts on “Voice Of Evacuees”

  1. 危機の中に「危険」と「機会」があるんですね。
    悪いことにいいことがあります。
    いいことには悪いこともあります。
    ずっとうまくいくのはだめです。
    いつも悪くいくも無理です。
    これが人生の不変の真理ですね。
    人生は相場の変動みたいなあ〜〜〜

    1. なるほど。これまで、あまりよくなかったら後は調子があがる可能性が高そうですね。
      悪くなるにしろ、良くなるにしろ、人生ほどほどがいいですね。

  2. “She talked us about her experience for thirty minutes while we were standing.”

    She needed friendly and sympathetic ears, and you were a good listner.

  3. Thank you for sharing what life is like in Japan now. Your posts are even more interesting than what is on the news.

    Even if I don’t have time to comment, I read your posts.

    1. I wrote what she said without change but I thought that she wanted to say that TEPCO would not give others whose houses was swept away.
      Of course there will be support funding.
      I don’t know that is enough for future living.

  4. Thank you for sharing. While we are counting by thousands the victims of the earthquake/tsunami, there are still many thousands people to help, the survivors, the friends/family of the victims, the workers at Fukushima, the people who have felt the earthquake kilometers away, people who have lost their land, their jobs… these people are suffering from shock,trauma,stress and still need our help

  5. Thank u so much for sharing this.Can I reblog this?Also may I link ur blog to my ‘Pray for Japan’ page ??
    One thing remarkable about Japan is that those suffering and those helping/volunteering, stand up against the difficult times as ONE.Being here in Tokyo,I have seen all the efforts people here put in,to send some hope and relief ,to ease the suffering in their own possible small ways.May God Bless this country and the people.

    1. Sure you can reblog and link this post.
      I heard that a tons of volunteer went and corporate together both in the affected area and around Tokyo.
      I’m proud that I’m Japanese.

Leave a Reply

