Gratin For Mother’s Day

I can’t choose a present for my mum and wife every Mother’s Day easily
because I don’t know what both my mother and my wife want to recieve.

Basically I miss my tip about presents.
I usually find a carnation or a handkerchief at the Mother’s Day gift in some stores
but I want to choose something unique.
So I ask my wife directly
“What do you want for mother’s day?”
“I don’t want anything.Instead, I want to eat delicious gratin as dinner. ”

That was easy to understand.
I prepared the ingredients which were sweet potatos, onions, minced meat, a cheese and a soy milk.

Then I cooked a gratin by the recipe which I found on the internet.

1 Fry minced meat and onions with salt and pepper.
2 Mix them with sweet potatos, flour and soy milk
3 Fry it well, then top it with cheese and bake it in an oven.
4 After twenty minutes we can eat it while being careful of the very hot plate.

That’s it.It isn’t difficult for me.
We enjoyed celebrating Mother’s Day.

By the way, my daughters gave my wife paper flowers and pictures which they drew themselves.
On the other hand, my wife and I bought my mother a scarf and shirt.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

18 thoughts on “Gratin For Mother’s Day”

  1. 奥様のリクエストに応えて、とても美味しそうなグラタンを作られましたね (*^-゚)b
    ご家族みなさん喜ばれた事でしょう。我が家はリクエストしたくても応えられる技量が主人にないので、残念です。(笑)

  2. グラタン、おいしそうですね!
    ずっと昔、私の大学のフランスの友だちはよくグラタンを作ってくれました。
    ああ、懐かしい〜〜〜

      1. That’s interesting- i’ve always commonly had potato and cheese, but never imagined sweet potato and cheese.. I’ll try it sometime🙂
        And thanks for sharing.. I’m curious why your wife chose gratin!

      2. I used sweet potato first time. Fortunately it tastes good.
        My wife likes cheese but she can’t always eat it because my younger daughter is allergic to milk products. So this day I cooked another gratin without cheese.

Leave a Reply

