Neighborhood

There’re many places in my neighborhood which I haven’t explored fully yet because I work in Tokyo on weekdays.

All of these photos are the places which I can walk to in five minutes.

I feel refreshed by this natural creations because I lived in Tokyo, where I was enable to see mmny natural things, during my childhood.
I guess that people who have lived here for many years take it for granted.

This is the forest for the citizens. I feel that this place is gloomy and I can’t walk there easily.
However, if this forest could be improved a little, we could walk through the trees with a good walkway.
Even now day care children often go to this forest to play.

This is the land which the Saitama prefectural government hasn’t used yet.
I wish that they would turn this large place into a wonderful park.

This is a tea plantation.
I can find some tea plantations in my neighborhood.
These plantations grow green tea that is sold as a local green tea.
For example if the leaves of tea are from Sayama, this tea is called “Sayama tea”.
We can buy a bag of green tea from five hundred to two thousand Japanese yen per hundred gram.
In particular, during the winter season, I drink green tea almost every day.

I’d like to find other unknown things in my neighborhood by bicycle and on foot.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

16 thoughts on “Neighborhood”

  1. oooh, the tea bushes are so sculptured and beautiful! how great to drink tea from your neighborhood. i really love the entry to the forest. mysterious!

    1. Yes, I think very nice. It takes two hours to commute to work.
      During the winter season, it is dark when I leave my home!
      So I enjoy my neighborhood on weekends.

  2. Great photos! I wish I could grow tea–I, too, drink green tea every day. Forests can be a bit spooky and it’s easy to get turned around in the woods if you don’t have a path. However, I love walking in the woods–especially in the winter. (Too many bugs in the summer!)

  3. What a lovely neighborhood… I love the tea plantings, they look like green rolls of bread.🙂 The forest looked intriguing but since you said it is gloomy, I wonder why? I enjoyed the walk though parts of your neighborhood.🙂

Leave a Reply

