School Lunch

“Some schools in Chicago now ban lunches from home for health reasons – kids either eat the school food, or nothing. “

This topic is interesting and important for us.
So I’ll write about school lunch both in elementary school and day care.

1 Elementary school

When I was a child, there were some school cooks in each school.
They were called “Mrs. School lunch.(lunch ladies)”
They used a very large pan and rice paddle and began cooking early in the morning every day.

Recently school lunches are delivered by a large school lunch center like a factory.
Perhaps the government needed to reduce the cost of school lunches.

However, my elder daughter’s menu is similar to what I had eaten.

The most principal foods are rice and milk.
Sometimes chilidren can eat bread and noodles.
A glass of milk is served every day although some children including my daughter don’t like milk and there is an opinion that milk isn’t healthy.

The main dish is fish or meat served alternatively and some vegetables, such as potatoes and tomatoes, are served as side dishes.

2 Day care

Fortunately school cooks are cooking school lunch for day cares even now.
They cook a special lunch for my younger daughter who is allergic to egg and milk products.
It’s very helpful.
If something like cake is served and it is difficult to remove milk and eggs, my wife cooks an alternative bread and sends it to school with my younger daughter.

The menu is made by an expert in nutrition.
Milk or yoghurt are also served every day.
I wish that children could select a drink like barley tea.

In addition children can eat an afternoon snack, such as jello, banana, udon, doughnuts or cookies, at three o’clock

My elder daughter says “I liked school better when I was in day care. I felt it was more delicious. “

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

15 thoughts on “School Lunch”

  1. Personally I have never experienced school lunch. The area that I grew up did not have this service. I am not sure which style is really better – school lunch or home lunch – to promote healthy eating habits. In my case I am sure I would have still struggled to get salad down my throught at school.

    1. Salad is healthy.I hope you will enjoy salad.
      Sometimes there is a day which children eat home lunch in day care.
      Day care teachers can know what children usually eat at their home on this day.

  2. 戦後の日本はたいへんでした。
    その時、肉は十分ではありませんでした。
    クジラの肉がその不足分を補っていたんです。
    戦後の学校給食はクジラでしたね。

    1. くじらはずいぶん昔の話ですね。私は生まれてないです。 :smile:
      小さいときには何回か食べたことありますが、今はほとんど食べる機会が
      ありません。
      今は、いろいろ栄養あるものがありますから。。

  3. The problem with the school(s) in Chicago is that they were mandating that only school meals were allowed. It is an arbitrary decision that eliminates things like your wife sending special food for your daughter… Schools ought to focus on teaching and helping all kids do well. Food should be an option unless offered to kids who cannot afford it; then it should be free…🙂

    1. I see. I often hear about “dietary education”.
      This education helps children to learn how important food is and where food comes from.
      I hope children will be able to eat and learn properly as you say.

  4. as I went to school 1951 in the post war Germany there was once a week for all children a little bit chocolate – coming from the United States, Care packet. A very friendly gesture I think … me and my wife will never forget …

    1. I heard and watched this episode about sixty years ago in Japan on TV .
      Japanese children received gum and chocolate from American soldiers.
      Your memory is very precious.

  5. My son doesn’t like buying school lunch, so I’ve been packing his lunch for years. I always put healthy foods and something fun, like chips, in his lunch. Chicago parents should not be bullied by the school system they pay for. If I lived in Chicago, I would bring lunch to my son every day and have him eat in the car if necesary, just to prove a point.

    1. How nice that you pack your son’s lunch.I’m sure that you son is pleased to eat lunch.
      Eating healthy lunch is the first step in good education, I think.

  6. With five children I can’t afford to buy school lunches! Funny thing is that when the subject is brought up they say they prefer lunches from home. They pack their own lunches after dinner: sandwich or pasta dish, two snacks, and a juice.

Leave a Reply

