Spring also arrived in my vegetable garden.

The potatoes are growing slowly.
I’m going to give them poultry manure and reduce their stalks to focus fuel soon.

The garlic is doing well.
This kind of garlic comes from Okinawa.
Cows are not attracted to it.
We’ll eat them a month later.
I can’t wait to cook fritters with them.

Fortunately, I noticed that green onions and burdocks are growing even though I didn’t plant at all.
I planted the seeds last year, and more grew naturally.
That is to say “volunteers”.

The other kind of vegetable seeds are coming out.
They are waiting for the temparture to rise and they will go outside our house.
My daughters planted these seeds so they’re often watched and we water them with pleasure.
Even my daughter who is three years younger can understand how the vegetables are grown.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

16 thoughts on “Spring also arrived in my vegetable garden.”

    1. Sure. I don’t use agricultural chemical and chemical fertilizer.
      I use local species seeds as much as possible.

      I don’t have friends in my neighbourhood so I don’t know whether someone does organic farming.

  1. I love the whole organic farming. I love this blog as I learn all about organic farming, and that is something we all need to become more aware of.

  2. Vegetable names are very confusing in English.
    Aubergine is British; Zucchini is American.
    Zucchini is “courgette” in British English.
    Pepper can mean a lot of different things if you go to various countries…

  3. Where did you get the poultry manure for fertilizer? Do you rear chicken too, got it from a farm or buy them?

    Lovely selection of vegetables you got there. It is great you and your familywill enjoy the fruits of your labour soon!🙂

    1. I got the poultry manure in near the home improvement retailer.
      Of course I can’t rear chicken in my small garden.🙂
      However if I live in home improvement retailer, I try to rear chicken.
      I’ll become an early riser because of chicken.

  4. I like your plants. I have many weeds. I have fought them for 10 years, and I keep failing. I will try to keep my garden better this year.

    I grew gobou one summer, maybe five years ago. My father was afraid it would go to seed, and a foreign species would volunteer in Canada. I harvested the seeds carefully. I wanted to plant them the next spring, but, a small hole was in each seed. It seems one of Canada’s insects loves to eat gobou seeds. Now I just buy it in the supermarket.

    Good luck with your garden. Maybe I can watch it grow, on the Internet. And watch my weeds grow in my garden.

    1. Thanks much.Gobou is nice. I cooked it ”fried burdock root and carrot”.

      It is difficult for us to remove weeds. I hope you will be able to grow gobou..

      1. Yes, I make kinpira gobou, sometimes. I also like it with beef, ginger, shoyu, mirin and green onion – I simmer it in a dashi. It is very good this way.

        I don’t think I will grow gobou, again. Mitsuba though, in a pot… I also have had success with Shiso in pots.

  5. You are one busy farmer and your plantings are doing quite well. Keep it up as I am looking forward to seeing the after photos when everything is ripe/ready to eat.🙂
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

