Discrimination

There is some news about discrimination against people living in Fukushima prefecture.

I was particularly surprised at the article which was posted by a famous Japanese blogger.
Her blog gets one million hits per month.
She received an email from a female reader living in Fukushima city.
The email is summarized bellow.

I live in Fukushima city which is about 60 kilometers away from Fukushima nuclear plant.
The government hasn’t called for evacuation in this area.
They say “” This area isn’t ‘immediately’ dangerous.””
The government is afraid of a panic because many people are living in Fukushima city even now.

I may be receiving radiation little by little every day.
Most of them living there can’t leave because they have a job and don’t have anywhere else to go.
I am 27 years old, was born in Fukushima city, and have never lived outside of Fukushima.
Fukushima was a place with delicious fruit and vegetables.

Fukushima people haven’t been able to get a job, get married, or get gasoline since the earthquake happened.
There is a rumor about an advertisement which Fukushima people are prohibited from entering stores.
People are afraid to even get close to Fukushima people.
I think that I must give up having children.

I want you to think about what it would be like to one day find yourself in a group of people who are discriminated against.

I wish that the massive earthquake didn’t happen.

I don’t know if this is true.
I’ll write my thought next post.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

26 thoughts on “Discrimination”

      1. Not only discrimination. Persecution… Do you know about Jesuits? In addition: Hitler… Stalin… etc. etc. Persecution is still alive and will be stronger in future…

  1. This is so awful.
    Watching the news, and researching the effects of radiation the goverment have probably put their own spin on this. She has probably got a point. I think only in the fullness of time will the truth of this disaster, in terms of long term health issues, come to light. I personally would not trust anything, ANYTHING any government department said.
    PiP 8)

  2. I do hope this is not true… How terribly ad it would be! Life is hard enough and they don’t need the extra stress. Keep us updated.
    Finally catching up on comments after my busy time with my college bound kids.
    Eliz

  3. I’ve heard about this discriminations who happened to the “Hibakusha”, I really hope that will not happen again now. They were not responsable about it and did not deserved this but the opposite, to be helped and to deserve the best life ever that they could have.

    With all my Love

  4. It is very sad and to think that this woman is giving up the idea of having children is even sadder.
    Thank you for publishing this and now the way not to discriminate further people of Fukushima (or anyone else) is by spreading the news that they need a helping hand, a shoulder to rest on.

Leave a Reply

