Dabbler

Actually, my hobby is playing the piano, though I’m not good at all.
I have practiced playing the piano since about five years ago.
Over a period of time I took a break from playing the piano, but I thought that I wanted to play the piano again.

I’m not good at learning something from a teacher and I don’t like piano textbooks.
So my piano skill is my own making.
That is why I’m not good at playing the piano.

However, playing the piano is very fun for me because my own sound eases the stress.
I play famous classical music like Chopin with the musical scores for beginners and the songs of Japanese rock bands in random order.
I emphasis healing rather than skill improving.

On the other hand my eldest daughter has been taking a piano lessons since a year ago.
She is practicing Mickey Mouse March and other popular children’s songs.
I can still play the piano better than her, but she will be much better than me soon.
Children continue improving their skill.

By the way my wife can play the piano very well because she has played the piano since her childhood.
However, she can’t teach my daughter or me in a relaxed way because of her skill.
Can you understand this situation?

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

13 thoughts on “Dabbler”

  1. Yes I can understand that your wife cannot teach you or your daughter in a relaxed way. Her skill is so advanced it is hard for her to teach to you. It’s like I have a sister and she has a disability and I have to go “down to her level to teach her” this creates stress for me as I am far advanced in what it is I have to teach her. I have to have patience and concentrate. I think it is best to have a teacher at the level you are at in the piano lessons to fully benefit from it. I think it is worth the price if you love to play it.

    1. Thank you for your comment.
      My wife also need to have patience and concentrate.🙂

      I can’t make up my mind to have a teacher.
      I usually hit on a subterfuge not to have a teacher.
      For example, I have no time and no money.

      However, I’ll search for a teacher again.🙂

    1. Thanks.The youngest daughter, three years old, also seems to love songs and piano. However she just hits the piano.😥
      When she grows more, she may play the piano better than her sister.

  2. ピアノも弾けるのですか?
    すごいですね!
    私は楽器がとても下手ですよ。^^;;
    でもクラシック音楽を聴くのは好きです。あはは!

  3. Practice makes perfect. I also want to be able to play piano. But I have just begun. So I only can play some simple tunes and only with one hand. My friend gave me synthesizer for children. But its keys are narrower than of piano. Two times a week I go to one family to help their son to learn English. They have piano because their son studies in music school. So I use the opportunity to practice a little bit. But to buy a normal synthesizer is very hard to me because it is very expensive.
    The first tune I learned to play was traditional Japanese song ‘Sakura’. I like this tune.
    頑張りましょう!

Leave a Reply

