How to learn doing a new job

I studied the various office workers who I have encountered so far. 
I think some of them aren’t good at learning for doing a new job.

1 They read every page of work manual for a long time. 
2 They work overtime unnecessarily and emphasize on their long working. 
3 They don’t mind the deadline until it becomes due.
4 They only consult someone when the problem really becomes serious.

As for me, I stick to the following principles or routines.

1 I only give the work manual a once-over because it isn’t useful on the job.
2 I make a list of questions which I have no ansewers yet.
3 I ask everyone what I don’t know as soon as possible. 
4 I made small mistakes sometimes, but I bore in mind not to make the same mistakes again. 
5 On and off I review my job with different angle and reconsider the entrenched attitude within me. 
6 I finish the work that I don’t want to do at the beginning.

I don’t know if this way works or not, but I have kept to this method for ten years. 
Perhaps I haven’t made a critical mistake and I got my second since this week.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

14 thoughts on “How to learn doing a new job”

  1. Taking a new job will make me nervous.🙂 I prefer not changing, if I can choose.
    Your method sounds great. “I ask everyone what I don’t know as soon as possible.” I would do that too.

    1. Everyone including me are nervous to take a new job.
      Sometimes I’m wear out my welcome when I ask someone.
      However, I don’t mind because the job will stop if I don’t ask someone.

  2. You have the guide to success listed above. I wish more people would speak up about mistakes and not wait till things are in awful shape.
    Kudos on your new job!
    Eliz

  3. Unfortunatly, too many job manuals are barely worth the paper they are written on. Good for you figuring that out so long ago.

Leave a Reply

