Longtime seller


My family and I seldom go out to eat except on trips.
We like to eat homemade dishes.
We usually eat noodles, like pasta, ramens and udon for lunch on weekends.

In particular I have eaten this instant ramen (☆1) in the photo for more than thirty years old although this isn’t healthy.
I enjoy to cook ramen topped with various food like meat, cabbage, sprouts, corn and seaweed.
The taste and the package of this ramen never change in a major way.
Five pack of ramen costs about 290 Japanese yen.

Of course I can choose many kinds of ramen at the grocery store.

For example this miso ramen, which is popular in the northern part of Japan, has yellow broth.
So this noodle is called “Sapporo(☆2) miso ramen”.
Tonkotsu ramen, which is popular in the southern part of Japan, has white broth boilling pork bones.
Shoyu (“soy sauce”) ramen, which is popular in and around the Tokyo area, has black broth.

Sometimes I choose the other kind of ramen, but the next time I can not help but buy this miso ramen.
I always buy my acquired taste.

☆1 Ramen (wiki)
☆2 Sapporo (wiki)

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

20 thoughts on “Longtime seller”

  1. Sometimes I go into Chinatown here in NY and pick up all different kinds. Some are good and some not so good. Speaking of which, have you ever seen the movie Tampopo? It’s a funny movie about soup.

  2. I bought a cookbook called 101 Things To Do With Ramen Noodles. I’m sure they’re quite American dishes but they require a small number of ingredients and every one I’ve tried has been quite tasty!

  3. I used to eat ramen noodles quite a bit when I was in college and I still like it in the winter. Now that I see your post, I’m tempted to go buy some and add a hard boiled egg to the soup. Yum🙂
    Eliz

  4. sapporo are our favorite also! we like miso flavor, and the original, that comes with a slice of dried bean curd. I think noodle soup is the only meal that my son knows how to make!

  5. These look very yummy. I personally just eat Top Ramen (not much to it, haha) , which pales in comparison to your ramen.

    Top Ramen might not be considered real ramen now that I think about it, although it is popular here in the States to very lazy/busy college students like me.

  6. Instant noodles are so cheap and convenient.
    I normally buy lots of them at a time, 10 packs normally.
    Last me for months.
    Of course, I don’t eat it every day. Only for “emergency”!

Leave a Reply

