Weekly Photo Challenge: Light

In general, you place skylight window to light up dark space such as spaces facing the north or at the center of rooms.

However, I placed it(*) at the pitched roof facing the south.
Properly speaking, we must not place it facing the south
because the sunlight is too strong during summer.
So I also install a curtain behind it to control heat and light.

There are two additional merits related to the skylight window other than natural light usage.

One merit is that I can dry our clothes under the skylight window.
This is very helpful when it is rainy or during the season of pollen allergy.

The second merit is that we can see the moon and stars through the window at night.
We can feel at ease.

I dare to say that its demerits are that heat insulation capacity decreases and we can’t clean the outside of the window.
These are not big deal.

(*)made in Danish Velux

PS ::
I will slow down my blogging pace. Because I have been busy since April 1 that I started to new job.
What a pity! I will return when I get used to my new job.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

32 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Light”

  1. Best of luck with your new job. I will miss your insights, however. I have become used to seeing them pop up on my computer screen every few days and have really become accustomed to your photos and updates of what is going on in your country on such a personal level. Quite selfish of me isn’t it? But somehow your blog made the world seem just a little smaller, if that makes any sense.

    1. I’m glad to hear that your pop up.
      I don’t stop writing blog. I will decrease the number of my post a little for a while.
      Thank you for your continued help.

  2. Wish you all the best with your new job!😀
    BTW, thanks for letting us know that windows should not be placed facing South because of the strong sunlight in the summer! I didn’t know it! Thanks for the information!

  3. we can see the moon and stars through the window at night…
    +
    frizz: wonderful: good luck in your new job
    – and I hope you have time to write at least weekly!

  4. Love your comment about not being able to clean the skylight, “These no big deal.” That’s how I feel about washing windows! Get a long hose and just spray it off!
    I’m sorry you won’t be posting as much but I understand. I look forward to receiving my e-mail notifications when you do post. Best of luck in your new job.

    1. Thanks much. I tried to shoot the moon/stars through the window, but the photo was very dark.😥
      If I will succeed to take a beautiful stars, I will post soon.🙂

  5. I hope you enjoy your new job. I would love a window open to the stars. We enjoy that view in our tent when we go camping.

  6. I love the way the light seeps in. Lovely photo!
    The room have lots of light from other windows too. That is terrific.
    Best wishes with your new job!
    Eliz

  7. Congratulations on your new job! I think that is good news. Take your time in getting back to blogging on a regular basis. I am willing to wait for you to write.🙂

    Maybe you can camp out with your kids under the window on a blanket and pillows. You can count the stars till you fall asleep. They will probably like it very much. My kids always liked to camp out in the living room when they were young.

Leave a Reply

