Thing that can’t be bought with money

The green pepper in our house

When I began to grow vegetables in my garden, I thought that the harvest would help with our family expenses a little.But things were not going well.
I failed many times because of injurious insects, cold weather and poor fertilizer.

Nevertheless I keep my home garden up for my pleasure.
When the vegetables were ready for harvest, my family and I were glad to gather them and cook various foods even though it was hard labor.
It’s the same for farmers.
In general, farmers don’t get a lot of business even though they work hard to get vegetables.
On the other hand, the number of people who want to become farmers are increasing recently.
Some organic farmers take more than for ten years to think of ways to cast their seeds and improve soils.

Farmers living near the Fukushima nuclear plant must give up their fields for at least thirty years.
TEPCO and the government will try to solve all problems with money.
They don’t have any other way.

Is there justice?

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

10 thoughts on “Thing that can’t be bought with money”

  1. Thirty years is a long time. The farmers there needs to find other source of income and it may not be easy, when they have been farming all their live.😦

  2. Your plants are doing nicely and I hope they grow… As for the rest, what can I say? It is truly tragic and yes, money can never replace the loss of their farm land.😦
    Eliz

  3. The percussions of Japan’s tragedies just go on and on. So many things are affected. I had never considered the poisoning of the soil. I hope there is somewhere, something those farmers can do. It is heartbreaking on so many levels.

    1. Yes, it is heartbreaking. We can live in comfort.
      However we must help the devastated area for many years and dispel any impression that Japan is the devastated area to the future.

  4. Last autumn, I sowed “mizuna.” We ate fresh salad of mizuna in winter. Before blooming, we ate “ohitashi of nanohana” and now yellow flowers are blooming lovely. We could enjoy them in different ways.

    Maybe money can solve most of things, but doesn’t always make people happy.

Leave a Reply

