My fathers thought

The flowers in the cemetery.

My family and I visited my father’s grave last weekend because it was around the Higan and we needed to confirm whether the grave was damaged after the earthquake.

My father died eight years ago.
He always drank and smoked, even though he had asthma and diabetes.
So he didn’t have enough energy to overcome his sickness.

He was a moody person.
He often fought with other people and hit his children.
However, he was easily moved to tears and always helped other people.
I remember he wept buckets at my wedding. (Father of bride usually tears. )
He was completely clear about who his friends were and who his enemies were.
He ran a small construction related company with one other man.
However, he wasn’t a successful businessman because he was too trusting.

If he lived now, he would say
“Die young and leave a good-looking corpse. “

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

16 thoughts on “My fathers thought”

  1. I suppose your father was stressful to support your family and his company, because he loved family so much. My mother was a lady with authority and confidence. I had a difference with her over way of thinking. She is demented state, I was fear if she would change drastically. However she looks a lovely little girl now. I love her more than she was ever.  親の年齢に近づくにつれ、すこしづつ彼らを理解できるようになりますね。 そしてそれまでの親を許し、愛する事ができるようになっていくのかもしれませんね。

  2. I think you got to visit you father’s grave. I am sorry for your loss. I am glad you have a family who cares about you, the grave, the earthquake. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

  3. I think a lot of the older generation behaves like that… they are gruff to the ones the love, but it doesn’t mean they are a bad person or that they don’t love their family.

    My Mom is quite overbearing and growing up, I kinda resented how she treated me. Now that I’m much older, I strive to understand her more.

  4. Your father sounds like quite the character… I can understand his moodiness; the result of feeling betrayed by those he trusted. He does seem quite compassionate even with the other harsh yet human parts of his story…🙂
    Eliz

  5. Coicidence that I just visited my Mom’s grave last weekend–for the first time. She died five years ago and of course I was at the memorial service but she donated her body to science so there was no grave right away. A year later, her body was cremated and her ashes were buried far away from where I lived so I never got to her grave before last weekend. I still miss my Mom quite a bit. I don’t think you ever stop missing your parents when they die. And, it also makes your own mortality seem much more real.

Leave a Reply

