Good teacher


My youngest daughter always catches up to her sister.
When her sister is reading a picture book, she reads one next to her in the exact same position.When her sister helps with cooking, she stands close to her to see what she does.
Her sister is a good teacher for her even though she doesn’t teach her anything.

Basically we only do what we want, or like,  to do. This is why, even if great teachers teach students, students don’t really learn if they don’t want to study.
The best way for a teacher is to play a role that students want to become.

I wonder if I can play a good role for my daughters.
I wish I wouldn’t say negative comments in front of my daughters.

If we adults are worried about various things, children also feel the tension.
On the other hand if we adults challenge something in a positive attitude, children will imitate their parents perfectly.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

20 thoughts on “Good teacher”

    1. I often hear that “Kids are like a sponge.”
      I always think about early education.
      However, to think about it excessively isn’t good for children.🙂

  1. Your older daughter is a good role model to her younger sister. I bet she got that from you and your wife.

    As parents,always worry whether we are good role model to our children. We try as best as we can, right?

  2. the first twelve years children like to learn by imitating.
    then they start to learn by doing the opposite.
    can be interesting too …
    I’m a father of two daughters.
    now, they are going to reach the 40ies soon,
    we are adults respecting each others differences.
    but my two little grandsons look at me – imitating.
    they dance, while I play guitar …

  3. Very true, kids learn so fast just by watching other people. I don’t have kids myself, but I’ve worked with kids for a few summers as a job. It’s great that your older daughter can be a good role model for her little sister.🙂

  4. Your daughters are beautiful… You are right that children pick up on tension and negativity so we must be careful. However, we are human and we all make our share of mistakes.🙂
    Eliz

  5. 家族はそれぞれが自分を映す鏡なのでしょうね。
    シンク前のそれそれの椅子にのってのお手伝い可愛いですね。
    仲よしの幼い姉妹の楽しそうな日常が拝見できて愉しいです。

  6. My sister and I have always followed each other around. We still do, even though we’re in our 20s.🙂

    By the way, I really love your hardwood flooring. Very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

