My mother’s thought

My mother's dog " Mee "

My mother lives in Tokyo where it takes two hours from my house.
She, sixty two years old, lives by herself with a dog.

When the massive earthquake occured, she went out to renew her driver license although she didn’t drive at all.
She couldn’t ride on a train. So she had to walk home for an hour.

I was worried about her as a massive earthquake might occur again.

So I called her

I ” Would you live with us for a week. ”
She ” No. I wouldn’t ”
I ” Why? ”
She ” My friends live in my neighborhood. I like my job.I don’t want to leave my good ol’ apartment.”
I “However, if the earthquake occurrs again , can you do anything by yourself ? ”
She ” What must be, must be. ”
I ” …..”

I heard that not only my mother but also the parents of others didn’t want to live with their children’s families more than before.
Many grandparents used to live with their grandchildren.

Recently, grandparents seem to value their own living the best.
Most of them are healthy and have energy.

On the other hand I heard that my mother bought many food and batteries not for herself but also for my sister, my brother and I.
She is treating us like children no matter how old we get.
We are sure that we are able to care for ourselves with a few exceptions.
For example sometimes I have to ask her to take care of our children while we feel regretful for her.
Of course we will help her as she grows older.

We have mutual dependence on each other although we live far apart.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

18 thoughts on “My mother’s thought”

  1. LOL. The other day we talked about the cultural differences regarding privacy in the house, but as far as mothers are concerned, this is universal: mothers never will be able to see their children as adults. My mom still thinks I’m 5 or 6 and regularly explain how to do certain things that I’ve learned… well, when I was about 5 or 6…

  2. It’s thoughtful when your dearest mother said: “What must be, must be!”.🙂
    I have to learn her attitude and maybe my life will have less and less worries.

      1. Oh , I didn’t know “Tonari no Yamada”. I searched it.
        But I know “Que sera sera”. I often heard the word said by famous people.

  3. I think the conversations would be similar with our two daughters, if there had been a catastrophe like yours in Japan. One family in Berlin, one in Munich, one near Cologne: always 600 kilometers distance – but connected with phone and e-mail to support our moods and avoid depression …

  4. Good mothers are the same all over the world! They never stop worrying about their children–even when their children are worrying about them! I so glad your Mom is O.k., she sounds like a real trooper.

  5. 私たちも遠くにいる家族を案じてはいますが、いつもは皆が元気であれば安心なんですよね。
    ただ今の関東で、おひとりで暮らされているのがご心配なお気持ちよくわかります。
    私達三人核家族も、万が一また大きな地震がきたその時、家族がそれぞれ何処にいるかは
    全く予想ができず、それを考えると不安です。 お母様も、ただただ皆の無事を祈って可愛いわんこと一緒にがんばっておられる事でしょう。 残念な事に今回の地震は、私たちの心に大きな傷を残してしまいましたね。早くかさぶたができてうっすらと消えていくことを祈ります。

    1. おっしゃられるとおりですね。早く、みなさんの傷がいえるといいですね、
      都内の一部では、停電も今のところありませんので、そういう意味だけでは都内のほうがよいかもしれません。また、慣れ親しんだ家を離れるのはなかなか大変らしいです。

Leave a Reply

