Weekly Photo Challenge : Home

(I wrote this diary before the earthquake.
I sometimes post the topic which has nothing to do with the earthquake.)

Most arrangements of accomodations both in houses and apartment are fixed pattern, which are 3LDK and 2LDK.

L means living room.
D means dining room.
K means kitchen.

So 3LDK has three rooms and one living dining room. ( living room + dining room )

Fifty years ago everyone’s dream was having these types of accomodations.
These arrangements emphasize on privacy.
They may be good for privacy of each family member.
But they are not without problems.
For example, private bedrooms are not always accessable by parents.
Parents can’t know what their children are doing in their rooms.
Children may be watching TV, playing games for long hours or doing tricky things.

I wanted to have an arrangement that emphasize on the relationship among family members.
So I tried not to put in partition walls except for toilet and bathroom in our house.
As such we can now communicate among ourselves by just signing to each other and without speaking.
I was worring that there was no privacy in our house.
But so far I like the large space.

My daughter made for herself a small room with cardboard in the house .
She is pleased with her handmade room in caedboard.
When my daughters grow up, I will make her a real partition walls in the second floor.

PS
Now we are able to gather together thanks to the large LDK during these difficult times.🙂

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

27 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge : Home”

  1. I always love seeing the differences and similarities about dealing with space and privacy from one culture to the other.
    For example, in France, in general, every kid has their own room, but parents can enter them at any time.

    1. Most parents seem to value their children’s privacy.
      When they enter children’s room, they knock at the door.
      I don’t know that is good or not.
      Thank you for sharing about French things.

      1. You’re welcome.
        I can’t remember if my parents knocked at the door or not. I guess they didn’t when I was a kid, but did when I was a teenager. I can’t remember exactly.

    1. Hi ClassyRose
      I didn’t know about Canadian and French things.That’s good.
      In Japan a few parents made a locked room for their children.
      I can’t believe it.

      1. Cocomino, most parents here don’t put locks on their children’s bedrooms.

        In most homes, it’s just the bathroom that has a lock on it or a parent’s private office or den. 🙂

  2. I was worrying that there was no privacy in our house…,
    +
    yes, it is strange for us in Europe to have only paper walls – and a continuing control – on the other hand: we put away the doors in our apartment. so we at least can HEAR what others are doing …

    1. My house has an unique arrangements of accomodations.
      Of course I think we need minimum privacy.
      However, we don’t stay home for long time. Especially on weekday.
      So far we don’t need thick wall.
      Thank you for comment.🙂

  3. Children are so creative. Love the “nest” your daughter made! Our son has his own room, but no electronics in his room. He plays x-box in the livingroom so I can always keep an eye out. And our family computer is in a main room of our home. He knows mom & dad can always walk by and see what he’s up to. (He’s a great kid and I don’t think he would willingly go on web sites we don’t approve of, but even great kids can stumble upon stuff!) He’s been asking for his own TV in his room, but I say “no.”

  4. There’s an interesting phenomenon in Europe & Asia.

    Asian parents like to keep their children with them, even their children are big enough to live the house

    European parents, on the other hand, can’t wait to get rid of their kids when they are able to care for themselves.

    It’s strange but true!😉

    1. I wouldn’t say this is a European thing, more an Anglo one.
      In the US too, children are almost literally kicked out of the house when they turn 18.
      In the rest of Europe, children live more or less with their parents until they find a steady job and/or get married (sometimes they go away to go to college, but even then, they return home almost every week-end or so, depending on families)

  5. ON PRIVACY: May I speak from my experience of having 3 sons, now 26, 24 & 15. I believe privacy for the young child is mostly unnecessary, but that these needs change as they grow older. Privacy seems needed for the older child as they become more autonomous, and naturally separate a little from the parents. As to electronics in a bedroom; this may lead to too much disconnection between family members. In my family we tried individual computers in each bedroom for 6 months (laptop and stationary). This was a disaster. We spoke to each other less, and were offended by the infiltration of noise in what should be our individual peaceful rooms of rest. After we moved everything to the livingroom/entertainment room for any, and all use of electronics. We now speak more often to each other, and play boardgames together more often. We now spend less time in pursuit of individual virtual interaction via computer, or video games which are ultimately lacking in depth, and never a good substitute for REAL human contact anyway. The importance of family unity is paramount in the long term. You have shown it is your top priority. This is very good. It seems you are on the right track with what you are doing. Your daughters are very fortunate to have you as their father.

    1. Nice to meet you.Thank you for your comment.
      Do you live in Kawagoe?

      I totally agree with you.I have studied an architecture for many years.
      So I could plan this house.
      Thank you for your continued help.🙂

      1. You are welcome. It is MY pleasure to read your very interesting blog. We are a family living 30 minutes outside of New York City. My eldest son teaches English in Japan for 3 to 4 months each summer these past 5 years. He has many close friends, including an Otosan & Okasan nearby that he is very close to. My son speaks Japanese very well, and will likely live there full-time one day. I was worried about his Japanese parents in Kawagoe after the disaster, and in researching through the internet what they may be going through, I found your blog. As I was originally to have studied architecture as a young woman, your architectural expertise, as well as your devotion to family, has kept me following your blog. It is very intelligentaly written. Do keep up the good work.

  6. @London Caller @David
    Thank you for comment.I learned a lot.
    Even in the same country it depends on what parents want to do.

    Anyway I enjoy learning the custom of the other countries.

Leave a Reply

