Something Strange

 

 

I think that Japanese seem a little bit strange now.

I saw people buy many rolls of toilet paper and many boxes of instant noodles.
How can a roll of toilet paper be important ?
When the power goes down they can’t eat noodles at all.

Gasoline was sold out at all the gas stations.
Where does everyone want to go?
( Of course I also bought some food and a battery but I didn’t buy more than necessary. )

I felt like looking into the heart of humans.

Everyone, stay calm and think about the situation.

Everyone is watching TV on the earthquake for too many hours.
I understand that everyone feels fear and is worried about various affairs.

However it seems to be in a better situation because the aftershocks are decreasing than before and many are supporting people working in a devasted area.
The nuclear plants are about 250 kilometers away from Tokyo.

If we don’t buy more food and gasoline than necessary, we will be able to send much more to the people in the Tohoku region.

Tulips in my garden are sprouting regardless of human nature.
I hope everyone will live a life of peace when the tulips bloom.

 

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

25 thoughts on “Something Strange”

  1. Mass-hysteria. It’s very stupid. My wife’s family also complain about the same thing (they’re in Kanagawa), and people are hoarding food there too. There’s no intelligent reason, but people panic and become irrational. :-/

  2. Thank you for continuing to write this blog. I worry about my friend who lives in your city. I don’t want to keep asking her questions, so this blog satisfies me with answers.

    My great grandmother lived through two world wars, and the Great Depression – she hoarded food well into her nineties. Even in the nursing home, they had to check under her bed, each day. I think our brains make us do this. I hope that people will consider those in the north.

    I find the Japanese very brave. I hope I (a West Coast Canadian) can show as much bravery and dignity, if it happens in my area.

    1. Thank you for stopping by. I see. I’m happy to hear that my blog help you a little.
      I’m sure that you (a West Coast Canadian) can show bravery and dignity.

    1. I think that eating clean toilet paper gave that victim just psychological relief because it is known that man can live without food more than a week. Human stomach can’t digest cellulose…

      1. @ristinw
         I’m totally surprised, if the news is true.

        @nihongozuki
         Thanks.I will take care of toilet paper whether it is true or not.

  3. 私達も今の状況に驚き、不安です。今、一番怖いのは放射能です。小さなお子さんはできるだけ室内で過ごして下さいね。私たちは花粉症でもあるので洗濯物は室内に干し、常時マスクを着用して過ごそうと思います。 チューリップの花が咲くのを楽しみにしています。 いつもコメント嬉しく思います。ありがとう。

    1. わざわざありがとうございます。確かに。ただ、どこまでが事実なのか全然わかりませんね。うわさも多いのでふりまわされないようにしましょう。

  4. In America when something that could block the roads is about to happen (like a snowstorm or a hurricane) everyone goes to the store and buys toilet paper, bread, and milk.

    It’s a little odd because I don’t know of many recipes that use bread and milk together, and bread isn’t very good by itself. But that’s what everyone buys. I guess people all act strangely in disastrous situations.

    I’m glad the situation is getting better! And your sprouting tulip is very beautiful.

  5. I agree with the comments here that hoarding during an emergency is an instictive response. Good for you, Cocomino to see beyond imagined needs by looking towards the needs of the people who are truly in need right now. I have been impressed with the orderly way the Japanese seem to be handling this horrible crisis. All peoples of the world can learn by your example.

    1. Thanks much. The orderly way the Japanese are annoying me because many people believe the rumor about radioactivity.
      Of course I think that most Japanese are seriousness.🙂

  6. I think the media usually makes contribution to spreading rumors. It makes public opinion and sometimes escalates a situation. We can’t completely believe the media.

  7. <emTulips in my garden are sprouting regardless of human nature.
    I hope everyone will live a life of peace when the tulips bloom.
    +
    I hope a 250 kilometers distance is far enough …

    1. Thanks.
      I don’t really know that a 250 kilometers distance is far enough .
      I think when nuclear meltdown at Chernobyl had, the nuclear radiation spread from 300 to 500 kilometers.
      Everyone is worried about the nuclear radiation because we can’t know exact information and knowledge.

  8. If the nuclear radiation didn’t happen…
    People could have collect the rain water, for general washing and toilet use.
    But I don’t it’s safe to drink, but at least you can use it to wash something.

Leave a Reply

