Eight million Gods (kami)

My wife and daughter in a shrine

Shrines and temples are like a park and a walkway respectively.
Some may say that these places are solemn places.
But most Japanese don’t think about their religion seriously.

According to a book

The number of Shinto gods was extremely large and this can be seen from
its existence in the Japanese mythology of the phrase yaoyorozu no kami, meaning “eight million Gods(kami)”.

I heard that Japanese accepted various other gods. ☆1
I realized that there were about ten shirines and temples within three kilometers from my house.
I construe them as an oxygen that is important but isn’t noticed every day.

For example I bought charms on new year’s day but I usually forgot bringing with them.
But when some bad things occur to us or we want to ask for favors, we may remember them.

My daughters often go there to gather fallen leaves, acorns and insects.
(I often notice them in laundry machine😥 )
I think they don’t distinguish these places from parks.

In addition meeting places of neighborhood association are suited in the same area of the shrine.We get together there and talk about the latest events in town.

After all these places are completely integrated with the town naturally

( This photo is also my second weekly photo challenge. shadow😎 )

☆1 According to research, 75 percent of Japanese said ” I have no religion.”
But I think this rate is too high.Many people visit there.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

20 thoughts on “Eight million Gods (kami)”

    1. Oh, I had a lack of talk.:roll:Many people are relate to temples.
      For example grave, funeral rites and others.
      In these situation some family become a supporter of a Buddhist temple before they know.
      This theme may be difficult to tell about.

  1. Visiting temples to Japanese is a way of life and culture, because it’s what you do; and not particularly you believe in any specific religion or belief, maybe?

  2. I think Japanese people who may not have a religion can still be spiritual. I think most Japanese have some spirituality and belief.

    1. That’s right.
      Japanese often say “困ったときの神頼み” (If you are troubled, you had better pray Gods.) since aged ago.
      We tend to depend on God.
      We had better help Gods than we do.
      ただし、今回の地震のようにどうにもならないときは神頼みもしたくなります。

      下のサイトが少し参考になります。(日本語です。)
      http://emerald-heart.blog.so-net.ne.jp/2010-07-24-1

  3. Sorry, if I will offend anybody. Do you all believe that all gods of all polytheistic religions really exsist? Some researches show that contacts with so called gods and aliens are similiar to contacts with demons(described in ancient documents). It’s horrible thought for me that in reality behind so called kami(and other gods) act demons(oni 鬼, akki 悪鬼, akuma 悪魔).

    1. If you are offended at my post, I’m sorry for poor English and knowledge.
      まず、「八百万の神々」と「多神教」いう言葉について私が知るところからです。
      「八百万の神々」というのは、古来からあらゆる自然の中に、何か科学的に説明できない
      不思議な気配、存在をたとえていっていると思います。ですので、一神教のようにあるはっきりした対象があるgod とは、同一ではないということです。
       確かに、全ての自然の存在の中に獣も認めるというのはありますが、悪魔まで積極的に認めるということは、私は聞いたことがありません。また、獣を認めるというのは、自然への畏怖の気持ちもこもっているかと思います。今回のような地震は、まさに自然の驚異の一例でしょう。
      八百万というのは、もちろんたとえで実際に数えたわけではないでしょうが、人間の存在を超えた自然というものと共生を考慮した言葉だとも考えられます。
       また、日本が他国の神も寛容に受け入れる土壌はこうした考えがベースになっていると考えられているようです。

      そして、「あなたは多数の神を全て信じていますか」という質問ですが、一神教のような神を強く信じているわけではありません。しかし、「八百万の神々」のように自然の中に不思議ななにかが宿っている可能性はあると思います。例えば、どこか、森の中、山の奥地などでなんとなく不思議な気を感じることは誰にでもあると考えます。
      Spiritualという言葉が近いのでしょうか。

      明確なお答えではないかもしれませんが、私なりのお答えです。

      このサイトが少し参考になります。
      http://www1.u-netsurf.ne.jp/~tukinowa/gallery/kannjiru-kokoro.html

      1. cocomino-さんが家に無事で帰ってよかった。返事ありがとうございました。 私はcocomino-さんに気に障られませんでした。私はただ自分の考えを教えてあげました。そのサイトをゆっくり考えて呼んでみます。
        それに(失礼かも知れません)、cocomino-さんはたとえに死神の存在をしんじますか?

    2. 死神という言葉もありますが、うちでは「お化け」という言葉がよく使われます。
      なぜかというと、絵本によくでてくるからです。
      子どもが悪いことをしたときなどに、「そんなことをしていると、お化けがくるよ:」という
      ことを言う親もいます。

      存在を信じるかということですが、「科学的にはいない。ただ、心の中にはいる」という
      くらいです。それほど、深く考えているわけではありません。

  4. Cocmine:
    I just woke up on East Coast of US (5:30 a.m.) and am watching the horrible devestation in Japan from the earthquake and tsunami. I was so happy to see your post–but I don’t know what time it all happened. I pray that you and your loved ones are o.k. Please, if you are able, write a post and let your readers know that you are o.k. Your country is in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

