My house 11 : Hellebore (Christmas rose)


There are four distinct seasons in Japan.
I can see various scenes in my garden because my gardener thought about how the trees and plants would be all year round.

In spring the kousa dogwood has green leaves.
In summer blueberry produce berries and birds come to eat some of them.
In fall the leaves of the maple turn completely red.

Now in winter there are few kinds of the plants make beautiful scene.
But the Hellebore is a precious flower blooming in winter.
The Hellebore is called the ” Christmas rose” at Japanese garden shops.
But in particular they bloom from February to March instead of Christmas.

I have never given them any water or fertilizer.
But they have beautiful flowers every year.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

15 thoughts on “My house 11 : Hellebore (Christmas rose)”

  1. Perennials are the kind of flowers I like. Plant them once and they keep multiplying and come back every year. Most of them require very little care but it’s always a good idea to divide them every few years.

    Nice photo and an interesting flower.🙂

  2. I would love to live somewhere where I could experience every season. Here by the mountains in Colorado, we have lovely summers, colorful autumns, and beautiful winters, but we never have much of a spring season. Instead, after winter, everything stays cold and brown. It isn’t until summer that we get warm weather and green plants. Most of the wildflowers around here don’t bloom until summer either, so spring really is just a long, cold, brown season.

    1. Colorado sounds good place except spring.I found out some beautiful national parks in Colorado. I have never been to USA.
      I’m looking forward to visiting there someday.

Leave a Reply

