The Hina-festival

The 3rd March was the Hina-festival in Japan.
My family and I ate “Sakura Mochi” and “Hinaarare” to celebrate the Hina-Festival.

“Sakura Mochi” (cherry rice-cake) is shown on the left side of the photo.  It is a rice cake wrapped in a cherry leaf, and filled with bean paste. When you eat it, you can taste both sweet and salty leaf.

“Hinaarare” is shown on the right side of the photo.
It is a kind of sweet rice crackers.My younger daugther scattered some of them.

I think that most Japanese-style confections don’t contain eggs and dairy products.
That’s very helpful because my younger daugther who is three years old is allergic to them.

After dinner my elder daughter wanted to sing the song of the Hina-festival with her family.

Anyway the most fun part of us was eating the delicious food.

This weekend I will have to store Hina dolls in the closet.Because if Hina dolls aren’t put away, it is said that my daughters will not be able to get married.
That’ll be fine for most fathers anyway.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

5 thoughts on “The Hina-festival”

Leave a Reply

