10 minutes to make a lunch box

I prefer to eat from my own lunch box(bento in Japanese) because I’m bored of dining out. Also, I want to eat vegetables and save the money.

I wake up everyday at 5 in the morning and I go to work at 6 am.
Because I don’t have much time in the morning, I try to prepare my lunch box in 10 minutes

The contents of the picture are as bellow.

Rice : I often eat rice most of the time. Three times everyday.I seldom pack other staple food. I like bread but rice is easier to pack.
Fried chicken : I’m sorry to say that this is a frozen food which I didn’t really use.
Broccoli and carrot : My wife boiled them with a little salt.
Slices of “takuan” : Japanese pickle made from Japanese radish
Salmon flakes : I put them on top of the rice

That’s all.It’s simple.I usually use leftovers from last night’s dinner.

I think that the lunch box costs about 200 Japanese yen.
On the other hand dining out costs from 700 to 1,000 Japanese yen and the food has a strong flavor.
The lunch box requires a little care.
But I think that the lunch box is healthy and I may get very good at cooking.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

16 thoughts on “10 minutes to make a lunch box”

  1. That’s a fantastic and very healthy looking lunch! I often made my husband rice and vegetables to take for lunch. We save a considerable amount of money by doing that instead of him eating in his workplace cafeteria.

  2. Your lunch box appear to be nutritionally well-balanced! Just to look nice in photography, I will add black/dark blue color (nori) on rice:) Then you have all the colors in your bento box!!! LOL

  3. 可愛いお弁当を拝見できて楽しいです。 salmon flakes おいしそうですね。
    おしゃるとおり、お弁当は、安心した食材の薄味のおかずと、野菜が多く採れて、慌ただしい外食よりも落ち着きますね (o^-^o) ♪ 嬉しいコメントを頂きありがとうございました!

    1. こちらこそありがとうございます。日本の方とは気づきませんでした。今後ともよろしくお願いいたします。。

  4. Looks yummy! I know I always take my lunch with me to school, because it’s definitely cheaper than buying. Especially now that I’m celiac and can’t eat anything with wheat in it, but even before I knew this I usually packed my own meals.

      1. Ok.I understood well.I had been also allergy to buckwheat until five years ago.But now I like to eat Japanese buckwheat noodles very much.

  5. That does look healthy! And I love the word “bento”. I am going to tell my son that I’m fixing his bento to take to school. I always learn something when I read your blog!

Leave a Reply

