Christchurch

Christchurch hitten by a massive earthquake is very painful.
I didn’t think it’s somebody’s else’s problem. Because I went to Christchurch on my honeymoon eight years ago.
I remembered the beautiful cityscape.
I contributed to the Red Cross for the first time.
I don’t know if the contribution was the best way to help other people.
But it is better than if I didn’t do anything.

The power of the nature is awful though the quake-resistant engineering has advanced.

On the other hand it is said that a massive earthquake will happen in thirty years in Kanto which includes Tokyo and other parts of the east area.
And it is estimated that more than five thousands people would be dead and three million people would have to live in evacuation shelters.
At least the old buildings will be obliged to be tested for earthquake resistance standard in a few years in Tokyo.
But the repair work won’t be mandatory for private property.
Some people don’t want to spend money even the diagnosis which charges two hundred thousand Japanese yen.
I can’t help worrying about the future in Japan.

I pray Christchurch victims’ souls may rest in peace

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

6 thoughts on “Christchurch”

  1. You’ve updated almost every day! I can’t catch up with, but I’ve enjoyed exploring.

    Yes, contribution to Red Cross is better than doing nothing. Christchurch must be a special city for you, and for my daughter, too, who has home-stayed there. She was really shakened to see the news, though her homestay was about a decade ago. We don’t know when we’d become victims. There are times when we are helpless in front of huge energy of nature. I hear big earthquake in Kanto or Tokai region is overdue. I suppose your new house is earthquake-resistant.

    1. Thank you for your comment and continuing to read my blog.
      I think that your daughter also felt very sad.
      My house should be safe because I checked the structure of my house.

  2. What happened was very sad and quite terrible. We can send our help and prayers and I pray it doesn’t happen in Tokyo either… I love Japan. These are difficult times in many places.
    Thank you for stopping by my blog! : -)
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

