Parents’ day moved us.

The other day was parents’ day for my older daughter.
I’m sorry that I couldn’t go to see her but my wife went.
I heard from my wife about the great thing that my daughter did in her elementry school.

At seven years old, she announced the beginning of class on her own initiative.
She said that ” We are beginning class now.We made this picture about animal’s babies with great effort.”
What an incredible things for parents!
That one phrase moved us.

Because she had cried and said “I don’t want to my school because I don’t have friends. ” ten months ago when she entered her school.
She is a little neurotic and takes a long time to assimilate to a new environment.

But all of her teachers, friends, her younger sister, grandmother and us are increasing her feeling of independence. That is to say ” The society matures children. ”

Perhaps we parents became blind in loving our children too much that day.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

9 thoughts on “Parents’ day moved us.”

  1. 失礼ですが、
    as I feel, this sentence:

    I heard about the great thing that my daughter did from my wife in her elementry school.
    (remark – online translator gives such translation of your sentence: 私は娘がエレメントリー学校で妻からということの素晴らしい点の話を聞いた。 )
    should be rearranged thus:

    I heard from my wife about the great thing that my daughter did in her elementry school.

    扶育するのは頑張ってください!

    1. とてもありがとうございます。勉強になりました。今後もよろしかったらお願いします。
      (もとの文は、訂正します)

    2. こちらも、失礼かもしれませんが、
      ”扶育するのは頑張ってください!” は、
      ”育児を頑張ってください!”のほうがより自然です。🙂

      1. When I read something and feel that there is something wrong in text I am tempted to correct. I know that correction is not good for acquiring any language because it can increase anxiety. But if you don’t feel in such way when I correct your sentences I’ll correct. You can freely correct both my English and Japanese. お世話になります。

  2. My daughter is only 4 years old, but I know this kind of day will happen someday. I feel your joy and pain. 🙂

  3. We moved last summer and my son started a new school, 1,000 miles away from all of his friends. It can be very hard at first. But sometimes, I think it’s harder for the parents watching their children adjust and knowing there is only so much you can do to help.

Leave a Reply

