The Tsukiji central wholesale market is crowded

Tsukiji central wholesale market is the most famous market in Japan.
Many Japanese and foreign tourists come to see and take photos.
There are many photos related this market on the internet.
(google image search “築地市場”)

This market will move to the Toyosu, which is about 5 km away from it’s current location, in three years.

The main reason of the moving is hoary buildings.
Most of the buildings were built more than 75 years ago.
And it is impossible to renovate them with wholesaler working.


The second reason of the moving is traffic problem.
The picture I took wasn’t the peak time of the market.
Many trucks and turret trucks are running fast in the market freely.
The turret truck is a haulage vehicle for fishs and vegetables.
There are some quarrels about crash and backup.
That is to say that the area doesn’t have enough space to work.

There isn’t such a place that pedestrians feel much danger.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

8 thoughts on “The Tsukiji central wholesale market is crowded”

  1. I find this place to be quite fascinating. I gotta say, it was also the only place in Japan where I didn’t really feel welcome. Thanks to my fellow idiot Gaijin tourists that behaved badly in it and gave us a bad reputation, I guess… Although I have to admit, that if I was working in such a place I would get annoyed by people “visiting it” foreigners or not.

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog and comment.
      I don’ t think Gaijin idiot.They look around the place with enthusiasm.
      Surely the place has much effluent gas.

      By the way I have never been to Shikoku.I’m looking forward to read your blog thoroughly.

      1. By “idiot Gaijin” I meant, just a few, who apparently used to play with the fish and interfere with the people working there or something and gave us all a bad reputation.

Leave a Reply

