Four Hina dolls

In Japan, if you have daugthers, you must have the same number of
hina dolls as the number of daughters you have.
It is believed hina dolls protect girls from bad luck
Before the “Hinamtsuri”, Japanese parents take them out from their closet.

According to the dictionary,

“Hinamtsuri means that on the 3rd March, the Doll Festival is held to wish the girls both health and growth.”

Of course I took out Hina dolls from my closet.
There are four hina dolls in my house.

First this dolls in gorgeous kimonos are made with normal craftmanship.
If you go to a doll store, you will know that more than seventy percent of the dolls are this type.
My mother bought this for my older daughter. The glass case of the dolls is 60 by 40 centimeters.
I think that this case is very big to store them in the closet.


The second doll were made with a unique method.
The wooden dolls have grooves in which the ends of the cloth are tucked into them in order to fit on their beautiful clothing.
This dolls are called “木目込人形” in Japan.
My wife bought this for my younger daughter.
These dolls are smaller and cooler than the first one.

The third and the fourth dolls are made by my elderly daughters.
She made them out of a paper and a box of snack at elementary school and after-school day-care center.
I have a sense of peace when I see them.

 

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

7 thoughts on “Four Hina dolls”

Leave a Reply

