Seed potatoes


Yesterday I bought seed potatoes at a home improvement store and planted them in my garden.
There were various kinds of potatoes at the center because now is the first planting period of this year.
I chose the “kitaakari” potatoes because they were early season cultivar and I would be able to plant the other vegetables in a harvested field.It took 270 Japanese yen per 1 kg.

When I came home, I sliced all of them in half except for the small ones.I fertilized calcium superphosphate and turned a high furrow.I covered the field with black mulching to warm the earth since it was a somewhat cold day.And I planted the cut end surface of seed potatoes downward.(There was the book written about planting potatoes upward. But I planted them by ordinary method.)You can see the garlic in right side of the second picture.

This is my third time taking on the challenge of growing potatoes.
The first try was a poor harvest.But last year my second try produced a good harvest
I hope that there will be a plentiful harvest this year, too.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

10 thoughts on “Seed potatoes”

  1. I think will have a nice harvest.
    私の東京写真ブログに訪問して頂き、ありがとうございました。
    こちらこそ、宜しくお願いします。

  2. 去年、ロシアには大変暑い天気でした。じゃが芋の収穫はよいではありませんでした。今年はどうなりますかな。
    とにかくがんばってください!
    ロシアにはまだまだ冬です。それに、天気は二週間ぐらい霜ばっかりです。スゴク寒いです。植える季節はまだまだですね。

  3. My mom loved growing potatoes but then she had a green thumb.

    Sometimes she would just throw some old potatoes into the soil and they would grow into some nice plants with plenty of potatoes to harvest.🙂

      1. My mother’s garden was always plentiful. She loved sharing not just with the family but friends and neighbours.

        She also had fruit trees – cherries, plum, pear, peaches.🙂

Leave a Reply

