The necessity for a recipe


I received a chocolate cake from my wife as a Valentine’s gift the other day.
This cake didn’t have eggs and milk in it because my younger daughter is allergic to eggs and milk related products
So my wife bought a book that wrote about cake recipes which did not include eggs or milk-related products.
And she was creative with the cream on the cake.
We enjoyed eating the cakes together.

By the way my wife and I sometimes use a Japanese recipe site called “cookpad” (Japanese)

This site contains more than 930 thousands recipe posted by the eight million members.

For example if I were to search for a cake recipe which does not include eggs, I can find about 210 recipes.
There are too many recipes to find a really good recipe quickly.
Then if I were to become a premium user which costs about 300 Japanese yen per month, I can sort the recipes out in descending order of popularity.

Sure, I think that these sites are a convenient assembly of knowledge and I don’t dislike them.
But sometimes I think it is bother to search and choose a recipe.

On the other hand I have never seen my parents or other same aged people cooking using recipe books.
They just estimate what ingredients to add but their dishes are delicious.
I wonder if that method is really old-fashioned.
I remember part of a song lyric sang by a Japanese band that goes
“There isn’t a recipe for life. You should not copy anyone. ” by a Japanese band.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

6 thoughts on “The necessity for a recipe”

  1. It does look delicious and that’s a great photo. Keep a look out for any photo challenges on where you might post that. I love the song lyric you quoted “There isn’t a recipe for life. You should not copy anyone. ”🙂

Leave a Reply

