It was “Setsubun 節分” yesterday.

“Setsubun is the traditional end of winter or the day before the first day of spring.People scatter roasted soy beans inside and outside their homes to drive the devils, or bad luck out of their homes. ” written by Mayumi Ishihara, English teacher and writer.

During the day the scary devil, or ” Oni 鬼”as they are called in Japanese, came to my younger daughter’s class in nursery school. The nursery teachers and elder kids played devils. I heard that my daughter cried and threw paper beans at the devils

A small devil came to our house at night.So my family scattered roasted soy beans and shouted “Go away devil and come in good luck.” After the devil ran away, we ate the same number of roasted soy beans as our age .
There are various theories as to the number of soybeans which we should eat.
My elder daughter heard in her school that people have devils as many as their age in their hearts, so we must eat the beans to drive out the devils ( earthly desires ) .

We hope to drive bad luck out of our house.

Yesterday many beans probably lied scattered around in most Japanese houses.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

5 thoughts on “It was “Setsubun 節分” yesterday.”

  1. Happy Setsubun! I was working somewhere else and couldn’t see my family for Setsubun, but when I got back yesterday we had fun. It was a day late, but who cares? 🙂 My wife’s family had sent roasted soy beans from Japan, so we threw some, and ate the rest. 😉

  2. Ha ha ha, I am sure they did. Soy beans are good. 😉 Since I came back from the business trip, we also celebrated at a 回転寿し that night. It’s not 幹寿司, but it was good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

