Abacus

It is said that the ancient Greeks used something similar to an abacus.
My mother brought an abacus to my daughters the other day.
It is the abacus that I had used more than twenty years ago.
There were a lot of abacus schools when I was a child.
My friends and I have been to this school in my neighborhood.
But fewer people study with abacus since computers are now widely used.

Even now I think that the logic of abacus is more useful for mental calculation than a computer.
I hope that my daughters will be able to use abacus.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

7 thoughts on “Abacus”

  1. Abacus! My wife and I bought one for our daughter a few months ago (she’s 4 now). They are pretty interesting, and I taught myself to us it too. I can only do very basic addition (2+14) and subtraction (12 -3). I am slow, but it’s a start. I like the idea of doing complex math with only simple technology, instead of calculators and such.

    There aren’t many books in English about the Abacus, and I can only read basic Japanese. But, when I can read Japanese better, I hope to study the abacus more.

      1. Yes, I was looking on Amazon JP too, but we bought this one at Kinokuniya (we have one in Seattle).

  2. ソロバンとは凄いですね。
    僕は使いこなせませんでした。
    僕は完全に文系なんですが、
    音楽理論を勉強するうちに数学的知識も見についた気がします。
    それは文系の本を読むのにも応用できました。
    そして英語も文法は数学的ですね。
    自分勝手な考えですいません(笑)

Leave a Reply

