My house 05 natural wood

When I decided to build my house, I thought about my family’s health.
So I wanted to use natural material.
In Japan it is said that forestry declines because of cheap foreign wood and aging workers.
So it was difficult to find architect or builder who can use domestic natural wood.
The architect I requested participate in the NPO which takes 
an active part of diffusion domestic natural wood.
The NPO also holds a tour to see producing area.
Of course expansion and contraction of natural wood can be unfriendly to modern life.
But I felt some merits to use natural wood which was pine, cypress and others.

Some merits
•My house has big windows because of Japanese traditional method of construction
which mainly used beams and pillars.
•My house maintains constant humidity because of hygroscopic wood.
•I can feel warmth of wood.
•Joint of metal is much less than modern method of construction 
because craftsman can make high level joint of wood in the picture.

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

10 thoughts on “My house 05 natural wood”

    1. Thank you for your good question. What I told wasn’t enough.
      The difference of the material is bellow.

      ○Modern method of construction
      Floor
       ・plywood which is gummed up wood 5 millimeter thick and painted stain or  varnish
      ・vinyl sheet
      Inside wall
       ・wallpaper
      Outside wall
       ・ spray, panel
      Post
      ・ bonded wood which is 100~120 centimeters wide
      Roof
      ・slates, metal

      ○Traditional method of construction
      Floor
      ・natural wood 30 millimeter thick and is painted wood oil or persimmon tannin
      Inside wall
      ・ cement plaster
      Outside wall
      ・ cement plaster
      Post
      ・ natural wood which is 120~180 centimeters wide
      Roof
       ・clay tile roofing ( But my house doesn’t use.)

      There are more difference which of builder, planning, joint part.
      But I can’t write in English well.
      If I would be able to write English better, I want to write these things.

      Of course modern material isn’t hazardous.
      For example a formaldehyde is restricted by law.
      But my family chose the rare traditional method because of some merits.

Leave a Reply

