My house 04 heat storage system

The heating system in my house is a heat storage system.In Japan most floor heating warms the floor fabric directly with hot water or electric heating panels. But the heat storage system in my house has its heating panels embedded in the soil and it warms soil!The panel embedded underground warm the soil only at late night.The soil is supposed to radiate for 24 hours. Why does this system work only during night time ?Because the electricity charge at late night is much cheaper than the day time.But in practice, electricity charge is 15,000 Japanese yen (about 180 US dollas) per month which is much higher than I have expected. Anyway, with the heat storage system in place, my family can feel radiant heat gradually all over the house.
More information (Japanese)

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

3 thoughts on “My house 04 heat storage system”

  1. Ah my wife talked about this, but I didn’t understand. Heating in American homes is very different, so we don’t heat the floors. Her house in Japan is pretty cold though. They only use a ストーブ. :-/

  2. Of course, it depends on the home, but in cheaper homes when I was young, we used “base-board” heaters which are like ストーブ, but stuck to the wall. The home I live in now has heating all around the house by pushing hot air through vents. But our house has a concrete foundation, so it gets cold anyway (concrete absorbs heat). We also have a fireplace, which helps a little.

Leave a Reply

