My house 02 “Jichinsai”

Most Japanese prayed the god of the land before they build their house or building.It is called “Jichinsai”in Japan.We also prayed when we built our house.Shinto priest,builder and architect gathered on our land.In the ceremony green bamboo logs were set on end at the four corners anda household altar was set in a central location.Then we place rice wine and some fruits on the altar to wish for the saftey of construction and each one of us spadede the ground.After this ceremony all participants were hambled by the work before us.

 

Published by

cocomino

I live in Kawagoe-city Saitama-prefecture Japan. There are many traditional warehouses in Kawagoe. So many Japanese and the people from overseas come to sightseeing. http://www.koedo.or.jp/foreign/english/index.html

7 thoughts on “My house 02 “Jichinsai””

  1. Ah yes, I’ve read about this ceremony. This is to ensure the kami are not disturbed by the construction, which also prevents bad luck on the property. I’ve never seen it myself though.

    I’ve read a book by a Shinto priest (kannushi) that many things good and bad are due to the influence of kami, so Shinto is all about learning to develop positive relationships with the kami.

    Personally, I have a small shrine at home to 天神 (Sugawara no Michizane). Seems silly since I am not Japanese, but I admire the historical person, and I like idea of a “scholar-kami”. Plus, I am also trying to pass a language-certification test. 😉

    Great photo once again!

  2. Thank you for your comment.
    I respect you because recently many Japanese have not a small or normal shrine at home.
    Best of luck your test!
    I hope I made myself clear.

  3. Hello and thank you very much. I read in a book that Shinto is changing in Japan: smaller shrines are disappearing, but larger shrines are getting more popular (maybe people can travel more now). Shinto is not going away, just changing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

